Vlog: Inside Accelerated Christian Education’s Politics

I have decided to make the radical move into vlogging. For my technophobic readers, this is video blogging. Don’t worry, I’ll still be doing written blogs too.

My experience has been that people struggle to imagine Accelerated Christian Education from mere descriptions, so I’m going to show you.

I’ve heard that YouTube users don’t click on videos much over four minutes, so I’ve deliberately kept this short. A lot of detail was sacrificed in doing that. So please let me know what you think of the format and if you get a sense of the curriculum from it, and I’ll make future vlogs better.

In the video, I referred to the Conservapedia Conservative Bible Project. Although I still squint every time I look at the page, I don’t think it’s a Poe. Here’s what they say:

“Liberal bias has become the single biggest distortion in modern Bible translations…

As of 2009, there is no fully conservative translation of the Bible which satisfies the following ten guidelines:

1. Framework against Liberal Bias: providing a strong framework that enables a thought-for-thought translation without corruption by liberal bias. For example, the Living Bible translation has liberal evolutionary bias;[5] the widely used NIV translation has a pro-abortion bias…

7. Express Free Market Parables; explaining the numerous economic parables with their full free-market meaning.”

It’s a phenomenal work of conservative arrogance.

Related posts:

About Jonny Scaramanga

I grew up as a Christian fundamentalist in the UK. Now I am writing a book and blog about what that's like, and what fundamentalists believe.

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Accelerated Christian Education, Education, Faith Schools, Fundamentalism, School of Tomorrow and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Joe 'Blondie' Manco

    That hair is surely the work of Satan.

  2. I’ll be a tad critical here.

    When you are facing the camera, what you say is mostly enunciated quite clearly. But when you are showing ACE material, you seem to be mumbling. May I suggest a little more effort in clear enunciation throughout.

    When showing ACE material, the pages are a bit blurry, so hard to read.

    Apart from those comments, I like what you are doing. I’m just trying to provide feedback so that you can do it better in future videos.

  3. On the video itself:

    I’ll echo what Neil said. Possibly a clip-on mic rather than the one built into the cam (which is what I assume you’re using)? (Or a PA mic run through a mixer-board works really well.) And scanning the documents to add directly to the video?

    On the upside, you have a great sense of irony/dry humour that comes across really well in videos and podcasts. Talking of which, are you now a regular presenter on Fundamentally Flawed? I ask in hopes that you are.

    The hair? Hmmph. Decidedly amateur! :-)

  4. Now that’s a pro hair do!

    Thanks again for this Jonny. Good to see the content of the PACE, though ‘good’ doesn’t describe the content – freakin’ scary more appropriate, perhaps. How can ACE possibly think such dogmatism will work any better than communism??

  5. I have always felt that important topics should be given time, I’d definitely watch longer vlogs from you but maybe I’m the only one, I hope not though. Also is it possible to get better focus on the books because sometimes the writing was a little fuzzy but that could just be my eyes. Anyway thanks for the awesome work in exposing fundamentalism.

    • Hi Lexie,
      Sorry about the fuzzy text. My camera has the wrong type of lens for close-up work. I think I’ve figured out a workaround for future videos.
      Thanks for the encouragement!

  6. I am nominating you for the Sunshine Award! No need to do anything but enjoy it, however if you want to share the love of the blogosphere, you are welcome to pick up the requirements of the Award from my blog. I have a page up about the Sunshine Award right now.

  7. Fab idea to branch out into vlogging, and (hopefully) consequentially, get more awareness!

  8. The latest episode of a fiction blog I follow seems chillingly pertinent… Link

  9. Wow, this is … this is … I don’t really know what to say actually. I have been reading through and watching your blogs, and I can’t quite believe that given my own family history, I did not really know this was quite this bad. If you had asked me yesterday I would probably just shrugged and said, “Well, each lunatic to their own fringe.” This though is downright insulting and even without all the beating and religious indoctrination is child abuse, as it deliberately denies a child the right to a decent education. I mean at least the state system is trying! If I believed I had a soul it would be crying by now.

    Currently there is some discussion here around the government’s idea to help fund something they call charter schools, which nobody seems to be able to understand what they are – least of all me. Because one of the things it would allow is for unqualified (ie not registered) people to work with children in classrooms in a teaching capacity. I am now wondering if there is not a connection between this and schools like ACE. The attraction for the government is that you could theoretically fund education at a fraction of the price, but if this is the level of “education” then NO, just NO! I looked them up and there are an unbelievable thirteen schools in New Zealand using the ACE curriculum. I am now interested to see what they are actually doing in those schools because what you just showed in the video would be a clear violation of the national curriculum. How do they work around that?

  1. Pingback: Internet stalking – Bible-based Christians gone wild | apostrophise

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,629 other followers

