Podcast tonight

Hey everyone – a few things.

First of all, I’m appearing on the Skeptic Canary podcast tonight (7pm GMT; Americans, that’s 2pm EST). You can watch live or download later. If you have questions you’d like me to answer, tweet them to the show’s host, Tom Williamson or email him.

Second, I’ve added another talk to the diary, this time in Brighton on 14th January. I’ll stick the details on the talks page when I have them.

Last of all, I am trying to change the perception (in some quarters) that my opposition to fundamentalist schools is a campaign against Christianity. I am looking to give my talk, “Inside Britain’s Creationist Schools” to Christian groups. If you know any who might be open to having a filthy backslider like me walk among them, please get in touch.

As a first step towards this dialogue with Christians, blog regular Lotharson has written a post about ACE and fundamentalist homeschooling from a Christian perspective. I think many Christians recognise the harm of fundamentalism, and I hope to enlist their help in speaking out against it. There are some people who simply won’t listen to me, but who will listen to progressive Christians. Thanks Lotharson for writing the post; please check it out and join the discussion.

About jonnyscaramanga

I grew up as a Christian fundamentalist in the UK. Now I am writing a book and blog about what that's like, and what fundamentalists believe.

Posted on December 18, 2013, in Christianity, Education, Fundamentalism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you very much to you too, Jonny!
    I hope that my imperfect English will not bother too much your readers :-)

    I have however to disappoint you a bit: while some fundamentalists view me as a (bad) Christian, the most extreme ones (those causing the most damages) see me as a traitor, a deceiver, a tool of the devil and so on and so forth.

    When discussing such folks, I realize they will quickly ask: do you believe in the authority of the Bible?
    Well I hate being dishonest and I answer them clearly that I view the Biblical Canon in the same way I view other Christian and Jewish books.
    They then almost inevitably tell me we have no common ground for a conversation which is certainly very depressing…

    I entirely agree with you that children have a right to know that the worldview of their parents or of the owners of the school they go is not universally accepted and that you can find reasonable folks in the other side too.
    And this should be valid for Christian, atheist, Budhist, muslim, communist and capitalist parents.
    This is really the ground on which a pluralistic society has to stand.

    Best wishes from Lancashire, I am soon flying back to continental Europe and my beloved homeland Lorraine.

    I wish you a merry Christmas (if you celebrate it like many secular folks in France and Germany do).

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,042 other followers

