Evolution is a conspiracy!

I’ve chalked up another flawless victory and been published in the New Statesman.

As I write, the article is the top story on the Statesman‘s home page.

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.21.00

Please share this one. My previous widely-published articles on ACE have been somewhat tabloid in style, all numbered lists and sections in bold. This is an attempt to raise the level of the conversation on the subject. Here’s the link:  http://www.newstatesman.com/2014/01/creationism-and-conspiracy-evolution-inside-uks-evangelical-schools

In a bid to do less blogging and more actual work, I’ve got really behind in sharing links with you, so here’s some more excellent reading if you have time:

Zack Kopplin did a thorough exposé at Slate about ResponsiveEd, the secularised version of ACE that’s currently gaining ground in America. I’ve previously written on that too.

Tyler Stoltzfus, past (and hopefully future) Leaving Fundamentalism guest blogger, wrote more about his life as an atheist at an ACE school for AlterNet.

I did a thing for AlterNet about the propaganda cartoon that lace the ACE curriculum, and how they seem to promote racism, sexism, and the intolerance of non-Christians.

Dana Hunter has started blogging about ACE too. She has purchased the entire 8th grade Earth Science PACE set and is going to review each one in turn. You may have noticed my strategy for 2014 is to get people who aren’t me talking about ACE (anyone who cares knows what I think by now), so this is a very pleasing development.

About Jonny Scaramanga

I grew up as a Christian fundamentalist in the UK. Now I am writing a book and blog about what that's like, and what fundamentalists believe.

Posted on February 5, 2014, in Accelerated Christian Education, Atheism, Christianity, Creationism, Education, Faith Schools, Fundamentalism, School of Tomorrow and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great article Jonny, congratulations on getting it published.
    I’ll share on facebook and twitter as soon as I get home.

  2. Well done, I have just seen you mentioned on the Daily Politics prog, by Dr Alice Roberts.

  3. Congratulations on getting published again, Jonny! Awesome work. Best of luck to you :)

  4. Congrats on this important publication Jonny!

  5. Hello Jonny,

    I have heard a terrible talk of Ken Ham where he argued that Christianity will disappear if young earth creationism does not take over the Church.
    You told me then that ACE is far worse than Ken Ham which was hard to believe since Ham seems to have reached the very end of the pit of silliness and inconsistencies.

    As you know I am currently living in the UK and find there are very few YEC among Conservative Evangelicals.
    I guess it is a positive consequence of secularism: it forces religious people to hold to more reasonable views.
    You can believe fundamentalist crap and get through life in the Bible Belt, but it would never work in France, Germany or Britain unless you keep all the non-sense for yourself.

    I am not an Evangelical and find that Conservative ones hold quite a few harmful beliefs (like eternal torture for the non-believers) but I fail to see evidence for a lot of them espousing YEC craps in the UK.
    Many seems to accept evolution, and the creationist ones believe in an old earth.

    Or do you think I am wrong about this?
    I have certainly still a lot to learn about this country of yours.

    Otherwise, how is your PhD faring?
    I hope I will very soon get the first results of my postdoc.

    Friendly greetings from Lancashire.

  6. Oh yeah, by the way congratulation for the article!

    I find you have a great and quite convincing writing style.

    • Thank you lotharson.

      One of the first posts I wrote for this blog was How many Christian fundamentalists are there in the UK? It’s here: http://leavingfundamentalism.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/uk-fundamentalists/

      At the time, I wrote that by a good, conservative estimate, there were between 600,000 and 1.3 million Christian fundamentalists in the UK. I actually think that’s an exaggeration. There are probably 2 million monthly evangelical church attendees. The Evangelical Alliance’s theologian estimated that a third of these were creationists.

      If you assume creationist=fundamentalist, which I did for that article (which is a bit sloppy of me), that would mean at least 650,000 in the UK. But I think there’s a difference between “Oh, I just believe the Bible” type Christians, and full-on creation science enthusiasts. I would guess they are quite a lot rarer.

      Still, there are more than most people think.

  1. Pingback: #HamOnNye Post-Debate Round-Up

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,955 other followers

